A Time of Transition – Carla Rush

02/01/2021 10:00 AM | Fred Goddard (Administrator)

Man with arms raised next to pine tree on mountain at sunsetTherefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

2 Corinthians 5:17

When I reflect on NACAR and our world in general, the word that echoes in my head is transitions. Transitions are a recurring aspect of life and they can bring anxiety and trepidation but also excitement and hope. Transitions carry an opportunity for us to be vulnerable because the future is uncertain and brings a feeling of unsettledness. Transitions can usher in a feeling of loss and they can also guide us on a path to something new.

We are all experiencing transitions due to COVID and are trying to find our “new normal” (the phrase I hear so often these days!). Through this transition, we have found newness and hope through loss. I had a wonderful experience of renewing my associate vows through zoom and connecting with associates from across the continent. It was a beautiful and life-giving encounter that I am thankful to have had. I have watched my children adapt to virtual learning then back to in-person school with masks and social distancing and still see them joyful in their lives. What a blessing for them to overcome change and adapt to this “new normal”!

NACAR is also undergoing a time of transition. Jeanne Connolly, our board president, will soon be sharing a member update with the changes that have occurred and the new transitions on the horizon. Our long-time member relations/office administration coordinator Mary Jo Mersmann will be retiring this spring, and she carries a wealth of NACAR knowledge, history, and relationships that will be missed by all. Another transition for NACAR is the retirement of board members and our continued request for new board members to bring new ideas and excitement to our organization. NACAR will be experiencing feelings of loss and uncertainty with these changes, but I pray that we will find newness and growth in these changes as well.

Be sure to join us for:

Creative Conversations #21 Essential Steps in Associate Initial Formation

When: 02/17/2021

1:00 PM Eastern, Noon Central, 11:00 AM Mountain, 10:00 AM Pacific

Facilitators:

Terri Butel, Director of Associates, Sisters of Charity of Leavenworth

Anne Carey, Co-Director of Associates, School Sisters of Notre Dame, Central Pacific Province

Members may also view the video from the previous Creative Conversation, Lead with the Spirit, Fundamentals of Associate Leadership. This Creative Conversation was facilitated by Terri Butel, Director of Associates, Sisters of Charity of Leavenworth, and Lori Ritz, Director of Life and Mission, Sisters of Charity of Blessed Virgin Mary.

Log in and view it here.

Comments

© 2019 North American Conference of Associates and Religious.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software